Forever Mercy

Standard
God's mercy is forever, hung in the chains of His love for us.

God’s mercy is forever, hung in the chains of His love for us.

Song choruses repeat certain lines at most three or four times, so you get the point that it’s the main message of the lyrics, or perhaps it just rhymes.

Psalm 136 repeats a line 26 times, on every verse. I skipped some lines because it’s exactly the same…then I realized that more than just being a good rhyme ending, “For His mercy endures forever” is a conclusion of many subject roles.

For the first verse “Oh give thanks to the Lord, for He is good!” to the ninth “The moon and stars to rule by night” it’s a rhetoric. From the 10th to the 22nd verses, it’s a thanksgiving in remembrance of His guiding hand in the exodus of Israel. The 23rd verse to the last is a declaration of hope on who God is and will be, because He has proven Himself to be merciful throughout all time.

I have this victim mentality and sometimes I feel like danger is coming any second. I’m afraid on what the strangers around me can possible do against my own, especially now that I moved back to my third-world home country after five years of being away. Reading through this passage is comforting and empowering, knowing that there is no need to fear. If my God remembers me in my lowly state, then He remembers me all the time. He will rescue me when the enemies come. He will provide not just for me, but for the others who would steal or cause harm because of need in their own. All of these He will do because His mercy encompasses to all and it endures forever.

“Who remembered us in our lowly state,
For His mercy endures forever;
And rescued us from our enemies,
For His mercy endures forever;
Who gives food to all flesh,
For His mercy endures forever.
Oh, give thanks to the God of heaven!
For His mercy endures forever.” Psalm 136:12-16

About Pilgrim Princess

I am a pilgrim on the road to my destination. I am a princess awaiting my prince to come and fetch me. I am a pilgrim often lost in wonder. I am a princess set apart for the grander kingdom.

Comments are closed.