God the Chaser

Standard

God is aggressively pursuing us so that our hearts may be inclined to his.

In Leviticus, he gets into all these details of setting up a tabernacle so he may dwell with his people. But gone are the days where he carves on stone tablets. Now he goes straight to our hearts, etching his own cause into our hearts so that we may respond to him. He even goes to the extent of circumcising our hearts so that we may love him with all our heart and soul (Deuteronomy 30:6). God will cause us to incline to love him. Didn’t He say, “I will put my law within them?”

A sermon I had heard online had elaborated on this attribute of God as a chaser. He said that God is troubleshooting this troubled creation. He wasn’t just hoping or wishing or begging, but He is aggressively out there. He even went to the extent of not just sending a prophet, but His own son so that He can be our God and we can be His people.

It’s simply baffling to think that this assertive, unrelenting, persistent God pursues us with His grace, opens our eyes and ears, reaches down and grabs our calloused hearts, forces, enables, and removes it so that He can give us a new heart. It’s not a wimpy grace, it’s a robust grace. It’s intentional!

Last year, I first heard of this verse from my Korean teacher who had encouraged me of God’s renewing grace. And it has since become my grip when I doubt that I can ever be restored. Ezekiel 36:25-27, “I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean. I will cleanse you from all your impurities and from all your idols. I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws.”

“Therefore I am now going to allure her; I will lead her into the desert and speak tenderly to her.” Hosea 2:14

Yes God, chase me, captivate me.

Leave a Reply

